AHA and AH moments ….

“We eventually see that it is not things that we must let go of, but our attachment to them.  Attachments take the form of thoughts of “mine”.  A mine is something that blows up when you step on it.  I was once experiencing the pain of being attached to someone.  I went to a lecture by a beautiful Buddhist monk who said, “All of our troubles are in the mind.  That is where our problems start and that is where they end.” His words changed my whole outlook!  There were no physical chains binding me to that person; the chains were forged in my mind and the lock was fastened with my thoughts.  The key to freedom was in the thoughts, as well.  If a thought can bind, a thought can free.” – Alan Cohen

Going through my yoga training I have had many AHA moments, along with AH moments (same feeling, smaller scale).  One of those moments was when I was speaking with one of the teachers about my meditation practice.  I shared with her that I was feeling like I  couldn’t get out of my own way, like a gerbil on the wheel, constantly going, going, going.  The AH moment was that the purpose of my meditation did not have to be to remove my self from the world, but rather help me to live more fully expressed in it.  The AHA moment was when she said “the mind’s function is to think, just like our heart’s is to beat.” 

So much of my energy was trapped in my mind, thinking about living, rather than actually just living.  I realized I was not my thoughts, I could not find my Self in all those things that continuously pass away. In that moment, I was able to see clearly that what I perceive, experience, think, or feel is ultimately not who I am.

“What remains is the light of consciousness in which perceptions, experiences, thoughts and feelings come and go.  That is Being, that is the deeper, true I.  When I know myself as that, whatever happens in life is no longer of absolute but only relative importance.  I honor it, but it loses its absolute seriousness, its heaviness.  The only thing that ultimately matters is this: Can I sense my essential Beingness, the I Am, in the background of my life at all times?  Or am I losing myself in what happens, losing myself in the mind, in the world?”  -Eckhart Tolle …….. give it a try!

Shine on!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

