namaste…

We will always have crazy thoughts, or ideas in our minds, we can’t change that (or at least I haven’t been able to). What we can change is the direction that we head in after the thoughts or ideas are noticed.  Do we agree with the thought,  “oh yea that is definitely true…” and then continue to build some story around whatever the thought was, making it something so much bigger than it was originally.  Getting caught up in our story, takes us away from what is actually happening around us in the moment.  Or can we notice the thought and just see it for what it is…a thought.  Notice our reaction to the thought.  Notice the possible story that might unravel.  Not forming an opinion around it, but rather being curious about it.  I wonder why that thought came up in my mind? What has led my belief system to come up with that? Could there be another way to think about this situation?

Practicing this way of being helps me to separate myself from my thoughts.  To understand that I am not my thoughts, or my actions for that matter.  I will use an example of two opposite thoughts. “I am lazy…” and “I am successful…” Although it sounds like these thoughts describe the type of person you are, my belief is that those thoughts are not the real essence of you.  You are not lazy, in the moment you may be feeling lazy but that is not who YOU are as a whole.  Oppositely, you have taken actions that have led you to have success at this time in your life, you have been in the right place at the right time, but YOU are not successful as a whole.  You are you.

I believe this practice (I call it a practice, because I have to do it over and over again,  some days I absolutely, no f*&$in way feel like practicing it, and others I do) can relieve self loathing, along with easing self righteousness.  It might soften the blows that we can send to ourselves, it might bring us down off that pedestal that we find ourselves sitting on.  Nothing is guaranteed in life but the fact that there is a beautiful being within us, that has always been there and always will be, never mind all that is going on around us.  A being that is waiting for us to notice, and get in touch with, to nourish and help it to be heard and seen.  A place of light and love that is within us all, when we are in that place, we are one.

*namaste – “I honor the place within you of love, of light, of truth, when you are in that place in you, and I am in that place in me, we are one.”

shine on!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to namaste…

  1. Maureen McDermott says:

    I am textless, and bursting with love for you… when I read these…:):):) xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxox

Leave a Reply

