keeping sadhana, or a routine…part 1

*pronounced sod-na …. the routine a person creates, that is done everyday, can be for 10 minutes or 2 hours, usually done in the morning, before the day’s events begin.

My husband is a high school football coach. Which means that from the last week in August until usually around Thanksgiving time I like to call myself a football widow.   He finds so much joy from coaching and mentoring the high school boys that I don’t mind, actually I enjoy those few months (for the most part).  He literally eats, breaths, and sleeps football, at times it can feel like I do not exist.  It can be tough but it’s for good reason…I’m getting to the point…because of our limited time together during the season, we started a routine of taking our 2 year old yellow lab, Gillis, for a walk every morning before my hubby left for work. He woke up at a little before six to have his time to read emails, eat breakfast, and feed the dog. I would get a little more shut eye and be ready to walk out the door at 6:30.  We are extremely fortunate to live across the street from the beach, so we would walk there every morning. In the beginning it seemed slightly like a chore but very quickly turned into something we both looked forward to.  Nevermind the fact that we were walking on the beach, around sunrise, with no one around you can imagine how peaceful and beautiful it was, but it also gave us some time to just be together and really be together, not just passing ships in the night.  We kept this up for the season and through the winter.

It was so nice to start the day how we wanted, not be rushing to wake up and get ready to go to work or take care of whatever needed to be done.  Rather, we had time to begin each day on our own time, before committing and signing on to the world’s agenda for our day. It was helpful for myself and us as a couple to notice anything that might be coming up for us, on a daily basis.  Time to check in to ourselves, and our relationship. But also just time to enjoy and to just be, with nothing to do and no where to go.

During my yoga training I learned about the word sadhana.  This one word pretty much sums up what I just wrote in the last paragraph.  I have been wanting to create a sadhana for some time now, and for whatever reason it just wasn’t happening.  This past Tuesday night I started talking with my husband about it, he grabbed a pencil and paper and said ok, well what time do you want to wake up? what do you want to do after you wake up? ..this went on….I am on day 2 of keeping my sadhana. Here it is, I was going to rewrite it, but figured it was nice to see the original! 🙂

I also want to mention that you obviously do not need someone else to help you start this process, it’s just the way it happen for me.  So far, so great. To be continued….

shine on

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to keeping sadhana, or a routine…part 1

  1. Pingback: Sadhana Share Sunday « Fruitalini Yogis

Leave a Reply

