“a room without books is like a body without a soul…”

Marcus Tillius Cicero said that, and I can understand what he meant when he did.  I have two bookshelves in my house, one in my den and one upstairs.  Simply looking at the stacked books, the colors of the outside, the memories that each one evokes, the wealth of information patiently waiting to be absorbed, the distinct smell of each one, creates a satisfying feeling that connects with something deep within me.

I especially love the worn books, the ones that seem to fit perfectly in your hands as they flop open, that are marked and dog-eared, that I have gone back to over and over again.  Similar to an old soul, waiting to share wisdom, each time I, the reader, receive something new. Like Oscar Wilde said, ““If one cannot enjoy reading a book over and over again, there is no use in reading it at all.”

Today I was inspired to share this quote from Eckhart Tolle, in A New Earth.  It was the first page I opened to, probably because the fold of the dog ear took up half the page!

“The human brain is a highly differentiated form through which consciousness enters this dimension.  It contains approximately one hundred billion nerve cells (called neurons), about the same number as there are stars in our galaxy, which could be seen as a macrocosmic brain.  The brain does not create consciousness, but consciousness created the brain, the most complex physical form on earth, for its expression.  When the brain gets damaged, it does not mean you lose consciousness.  It means consciousness can no longer use that form to enter this dimension.  You can not lose consciousness because it is, in essence, who you are.  You can only lose something that you have, but you cannot lose something that you are.”

Deep, but to me, worth (and necessary in order to truly grasp) reading over and over…

shine on

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “a room without books is like a body without a soul…”

  1. Fran white says:

    Love this one Bridget. I was just talking to one of the girls in book club and I was sayin how Im not interested in a kindle or nook because I love the feel of the book and always love going back to them looking at my highlighted sections, folded pages and my little notes. My memory is not the best so it’s nice to be able To go back and reflect. Enjoy your day:)

    • bridgetboyd says:

      I couldn’t agree more! Thanks for sharing Fran, hope you have a great day as well!

    • annie falley says:

      I’m with Fran ….. love to hold a book in my hand … smell the pages …. dog ear sections that resonate … and write in margins ….. I REFUSE to get a nook or kindle …. Bridget, you must come to the book groups … they are great !

Leave a Reply

