gluten free and apple pie….oh my!

Last week I found out that I have an allergy to gluten.  Initially I was shocked and slightly devastated.  I do tend to feel sluggish and ‘foggy’ after eating anything with white, wheat flour etc, so I shouldn’t have been that shocked.   Being an elementary school teacher I was aware of what this meant: RESTRICTIONS.  The first two days were very hard, no longer could I quickly pick up a panini from the local food store. I realized this was going to take some planning if I wanted to stick with it, to at least see if I felt any different.  So to the computer I went.  There are SO many helpful websites/blogs that share millions of great recipes.

As I was ‘blog-hopping’, I stumbled upon gluten free girl and the chef.  The most recent post was about her trip to Italy (one of my favorite places) and the cooking classes that she taught there, making (you aren’t going to believe it) all gluten free foods!!  To say the least I was hooked.  Perusing through her blog I came upon a post about a pie party… Hmmm? This peaked my interest. Who doesn’t love pie and parties? I love both.  And apparently so do the 224 others that joined the party.  It was hard to believe that I could still have pie even though I was not eating white or wheat flour!  All of you who are novice ‘gluten-free-ers’ are probably thinking pshtt of course you can, hello gluten free flour!  But I’m new to the game….cut me some slack.

I was also intrigued because the last time I made a pie was with my Dad when I was in elementary school.  I have such a clear memory of being in our kitchen, and rolling out the dough with flour all over the place.  Poking the top layer of dough with a fork was my favorite part.  For some reason we only made apple pies.  We did this quite a few times, it was our thing.  So in memory of my Dad and the happy moments we shared baking, I decided to make an apple pie.  The first one I’ve made since I made one with him!  It was  an amazing experience.  It was almost as if he was in the kitchen with me, I could hear what he would have said at different moments.  So here it is, my gluten free apple pie. It looks good, but don’t be deceived, needs a few adjustments!  I’m okay with it though because I’m excited to try it again…

I highly suggest making a pie. I think it can be intimidating, and seems like a daunting task.  But I actually forgot how much I loved it.  The process of seeing the dough form as the ingredients mix together. The anticipation of waiting for the dough to chill, before using the pin to roll it out.  The messiness of the kitchen, the delicious aroma that fills the house. Watching as it turns a golden brown in the oven.  Cutting into the first slice. It could not have been any better.  So thank you gluten free girl for hosting the party, I can’t wait for next year.  But I don’t plan on waiting that long before I make another.

shine on

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

